Tales Of Miss Scarlett

The Art of Becoming a Swan

The 4th grade diva!

In the fourth grade I heard on Oprah (yes I was addicted to Oprah at the age of 9) that when you think of yourself a certain way, others would then see you in that light. Or at least… it was some advice along those line. I became determined to test the theory. Truly, I just wanted to see if thinking of myself as pretty for a few days would cause my class crush to find me irresistible. So the next day I walked into class confident and telling myself that I was the best thing since slice bread. And guess what? It worked! Not only did my crush spend lunch time playing with me, but multiple other boys complimented me in one way or the other 🙂

My point?

Recently I’ve been thinking about how my self-perception has changed over the past few years, especially since my teenage years. Growing up I always felt odd around others my age.  I was too tall, with a waistline too big, gigantic boobs  and ass that often got inappropriate response from grown men. I had acne that was so severe adults would stare. Needless to say, my self-esteem was very low. But now at the age of 26, my friends would chuckle at the idea of a low self esteem version of me. They often tease me for being too vain and over confident! Little do many people know, that my sometimes boastful expressions and confidence are often just tools in helping me to build my self esteem. Its utilizing that theory I heard on Oprah all those years ago. Before anyone else can see my beauty, I must first see it myself. Everyone has beautiful qualities…some are internal and others are external. Thinking of myself in a positive way helps me to not be afraid to show others what I have to offer.

My hope is that everyone reading this will be brave enough to test this theory. Love yourself boldly and watch how the world falls in love with you.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Art of Becoming a Swan

  1. I have always suffered from low self esteem. Of course there have been phases, especially after growing up, when I have felt relatively more confident than those childhood and adolescent days. However, I don’t think I have ever been able to love myself completely or boldly. Heck, I don’t even know how to start doing it. Going through one of the lowest phases off life, I realise how negative I am right now… About myself, about everything. Thank you for writing this post and telling the readers ‘if you just try, anyone can be confident’. Perhaps when I am able to finally find the staring point to loving myself, I will be free too.

    • Love can be thought of in 2 ways: love with action and love with emotion. Perhaps you’ve heard of the Bible verse that says “Love is patient, love is kind…” and I would point out to you that those are action words. You said you are not quite sure where to start loving yourself…but I want to ask if you get up in the mornings? Do you feed yourself with food? Are you careful when you drive or are on the streets? If you said yes to any of those…wouldn’t you say that you are being kind to yourself? I think so and those are ways I say you show yourself love a little bit everyday. Sometimes the word love can seem so grand and overwhelming, but I encourage you to simplify it, keep breathing, keep taking care of yourself. I encourage you to think of the ways you would want your soul mate to treat you…perhaps make a list and then start treating yourself to a few of those things. Little steps lead to a big journey. Thank you for sharing your feelings with me. I hope I could help.

Your 2Cents

